Who we are?


The House of the Winter Olympic Games is an associative museum founded in October 1992, under the form of an association in accordance with the law of 1901. It was created by the Conseil général of the Savoie, the city of Albertville, the resorts which were venues for the Games in 1992, and the French National Sport and Olympic Committee (CNOSF). The general assembly is made up of these 16 members.

President since June 2014: Guy Sevessand, representing the Conseil départemental of the Savoie. Previous president, from 2008 to 2014: Vincent Rolland, vice-president of the Conseil général of the Savoie, Albertville city councillor.
Honorary president, and president from October 1992 to June 2008: Auguste Picollet, vice-president of the Conseil général of the Savoie

The House of the Winter Olympic Games occupies a beautiful old building in the centre of Albertville, built in 1867 and owned by the Conseil général of the Savoie. It was previously the court house, and it became the headquarters of the Olympic Games Organising Committee (COJO) in 1987.

The House of the Winter Olympic Games is a member of the Network of Museums and Themed exhibitions of the Savoie, a group of exhibitions whose scientific rigour and level of service are recognised by the Conseil général of the Savoie.

The Olympic venues fot the games in 1992 are: Albertville, Les Arcs, Brides-Les-Bains, La léchère, Courchevel, Les Menuires, Méribel, Moûtiers, Pralognan-La-Vanoise, La Plagne, Les Saisies, La Tania, Tignes, Val d'Isère.


  • Area of permanent exhibition: 450 m2
  • Area of temporary exhibition: 250 m2
  • Curator for permanent and temporary exhibitions: Claire Grangé, director of the House of the Winter Olympic Games, historian.
  • Other members of the scientific committee of the "Olympic Tracks" centre (June 2000):
    - Alain Arvin-Bérod, philosopher, historian of the Olympic movement
    - Gilles Chappaz, sports journalist, film director
    - Pierre Préau, professor emeritus of the University of the Savoie, holder of the "agrege" in geography

Other collaborations with outside professionals for temporary exhibitions

  • The organisation of Savoie architecture and Jean-François Lyon-Caen for the exhibition "Denys Pradelle, architect" (2002)
  • Catherine Cuenot for the exhibition "Frison-Roche" (2003)
  • The Olympic Museum, Lausanne, for the exhibition "Figure Skating" (2004)
  • Pierre Dutrievoz for the exhibition "Himalayapolis" (2005)
  • Alain Arvin-Bérod for the exhibition "Éclats olympiques" (2006)
  • Pernette Perriand-Barsac for the exhibition "Charlotte Perriand and the mountains" (2007/08)
  • Aldo Audisio, director of the Museum of the Mountain, Turin, for the exhibition "Olympic Stars" (2008/09)
  • Cécile Pelaudeix for the exhibition "Arctic 21" (2010/11)


  • Since 1992: 500 000 visitors
  • Average yearly: 10 to 11 000 visitors/year
  • Spread through the year:
    - January to May: 37 % of the public, period usually associated with groups, particularly school groups.
    - June to September: 48 % of the public, made up largely of families which demonstrates the tourism value of the House of the Winter Olympic Games. Groups of adults and children in June and September.
    - October to December: 15 % of the public concentrated in October and during the school holidays.
  • Provenance of the visitors: 
    - 34 % are staying in the Tarentaise (that is 1/3 staying in the Olympic resorts)
    - 20 % are staying in the Haute-Savoie
    - 15 % arrive from the Beaufortain
    - 11% are staying in Albertville or the Val d’Arly
    - 20% come from other parts of the Savoie and surrounding regions
  • Composition of the public:
    - 10 à 14 % of the public are foreigners
    - Individual visitors represent 70 to 78 % of the public.

The Champions House

A convivial site, the House of the Winter Olympic Games organises shows which are open to the public, at which they may also meet winter sports champions: Dedication of Gwendal Peizerat, a stop on the Olympic torch relay of Turin 2006 with Jean-Luc Crétier and Marina Anissina, conference on the notation methods for skating with Jacqueline Du Bief, Liliane Brède-Crosa and Robert Dureville, dedication of the sisters Marielle and Christine Goitschel, inauguration with Jean-Claude Killy, Léo Lacroix and ski champions from 1968: Patricia Du Roy de Bliquy, Danièle Telinge-Morel, Marguerite Leduc…

Other champions have chosen to make gifts of their equipment, so that it can be shown to the public who cheered them along in their careers: Nicolas Berejny and Alain Marguerettaz, paralympic champions, Christine et Marielle Goitschel, Guy de Huertas, Carole Montillet, Delphine Peretto, Edgar Grospiron… 

The House of the Winter Olympic Games is also the headquarters of the International French Skiers Association (AISF), president Jean-Paul Pierrat.